Mark Your Calendar! IEEE SDN's Flagship Conference Set for June 6-10 in Seoul, Korea

Eileen Healy, IEEE SDN Co-Chair


Welcome to the 4th issue of the IEEE Softwarization Newsletter. We have another set of timely and thought-provoking articles to keep you abreast of some of the latest thinking around SDN/NFV and how Softwarization is impacting network evolution and more.

This issue also marks the date to register for IEEE SDN’s flagship conference, NetSoft 2016, set for June 6-10 in Seoul, South Korea. Thank you to our sponsors and patrons for their support and leadership of this event.

Figure 1

We’re pleased to announce our impressive line-up of keynote speakers. Please click here for speaker details.

Figure 2

In addition, there are four co-located workshops on specialized topics, such as: SDN and IoT, open-source software networking, software defined 5G networks, and security in virtualized networks.

We also have a solid tutorial schedule kicking off the week with a full-day tutorial on Monday, June 6 on 'End-to-End Orchestration in Multi-tier Clouds based on Software-Defined Infrastructure.’ There is also a half-day tutorial on Monday morning that will cover ‘NFV Management and Orchestration in the Age of 5G.’ To view the tutorial schedule in full, please visit:

The advanced program is now available online:

Please note: there are still opportunities available to exhibit at the conference. Please contact Dr. Young-Woo Lee (VP at KT, for more information on how to participate.

On behalf of the IEEE SDN leadership, I invite you to join us in Seoul for this most important event. Hope to see you there!

-Eileen Healy



Eileen HealyEileen Healy is a proven change agent who knows how to deliver solutions by crafting vision and executing strategy leading concrete results. She has been a member of the IEEE since 1982 and worked in the telecommunications industry for even longer. Eileen started as a network analyst helping an international financial brokerage minimize their costs for international telex and voice calls. Driven by her love for this work, she went on to study electrical engineering at UC Berkeley where her passion for communications landed her an unprecedented role as the only undergraduate working as a teaching assistant in Dr. John Whinnery’s optics and microwave lab while earning her BSEE. She then worked for Pacific Bell where she was the liaison to Stanford University’s Telecommunications Institute providing industry perspective and guest lecturing on development in commercial optical networks. As Vice-Chairman of ANSI’s subcommittee on Digital Hierarchies, she helped shape the SONET and SDH optical standards. Later, she helped to launch Pacific Bell Mobile Services where she and her colleagues bucked the trend in the U.S. and supported the emerging GSM standards leading to the widespread deployment in the U.S. She founded two companies that successfully supported the growth of mobile networks and services. She is an accomplished senior executive who consistently delivers results by remaining on the cutting-edge of changing market place dynamics. She has worked in the Metro-Ethernet Forum, the Cloud Services Forum and participated in the NFV Forum before its integration into ETSI. She is currently Co-Chair of the IEEE SDN Initiative.



Subscribe to IEEE Softwarization

Join our free SDN Technical Community and receive IEEE Softwarization.

Subscribe Now


Article Contributions Welcomed

Download IEEE Softwarization Editorial Guidelines for Authors (PDF, 122 KB)

If you wish to have an article considered for publication, please contact the Managing Editor at


Past Issues

November 2018

March 2018

January 2018

December 2017

September 2017

July 2017

May 2017

March 2017

January 2017

November 2016

September 2016

July 2016

May 2016

March 2016

January 2016

November 2015

IEEE Softwarization Editorial Board

Laurent Ciavaglia, Editor-in-Chief
Mohamed Faten Zhani, Managing Editor
TBD, Deputy Managing Editor
Syed Hassan Ahmed
Dr. J. Amudhavel
Francesco Benedetto
Korhan Cengiz
Noel Crespi
Neil Davies
Eliezer Dekel
Eileen Healy
Chris Hrivnak
Atta ur Rehman Khan
Marie-Paule Odini
Shashikant Patil
Kostas Pentikousis
Luca Prete
Muhammad Maaz Rehan
Mubashir Rehmani
Stefano Salsano
Elio Salvadori
Nadir Shah
Alexandros Stavdas
Jose Verger